US Marshal Job Description and Career Opportunities in Texas

Fugitive apprehension is one of the most highly visible job duties that U.S. marshals perform. For example, in 2013 alone, the United States Marshals Service (USMS) in Eastern Texas, working as part of the Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force, cleared more than 2,440 fugitive cases. With the help of partnering agencies at the federal, state and local levels, the U.S. marshals were able to bring to justice some of the region’s most dangerous criminals.

Sponsored Content

Of the fugitive cases cleared by the Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force in 2013, 53 were homicide warrants, 178 were sex offender warrants, 32 were weapons offenses warrants, and 187 were assault/aggravated assault warrants.

The U.S. Marshals in the Eastern District of Texas has no less than 70 participating agencies, which include 40 full-time and 84 part-time task force officers.

How to Become a U.S. Marshal in Texas: Job and Training Requirements

Individuals interested in attaining U.S. marshals jobs in Texas must be prepared to meet the minimum requirements set forth by the USMS.

Specifically, individuals must:

  • Be United States citizens
  • Be between the ages of 21 and 36
  • Possess a valid driver’s license
  • Pass a medical evaluation, including vision and hearing test
  • Pass a two-part competitive exam
  • Pass a background investigation
  • Pass a panel interview
  • Pass a physical fitness test
  • Complete 17 ½ weeks of basic training at the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center in Glynco, Georgia

Meeting the Requirements at the GL-7 Federal Level

In addition to meeting the above requirements, individuals must be able to meet the requirements of the GL-7 federal pay level, the level at which all new U.S. marshals are hired. Qualifying at the GL-7 level may be accomplished through a formal degree program, experience, or a combination of the two:

  • Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university with a history of superior academic achievement; OR
  • At least one full year of graduate-level education in a program related to law enforcement, such as criminal justice, criminology, sociology, etc.; OR
  • At least one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the GL-5 level, which includes work in criminal investigations and law enforcement duties; OR
  •  A combination of education and experience


Texas U.S. Marshals in Several Districts Throughout the State

The U.S. Marshals Service organizes operations in the Lone Star State according to judicial districts:

Western District of Texas – The Western District of Texas includes the state’s western counties, which include the large cities of Austin, San Antonio, Pecos, Waco, Del Rio, and El Paso. The Western District also oversees the Lone Star Fugitive Task Force, which focuses on the apprehension of violent offenders.

Southern District of Texas – The Southern District of Texas consists of the state’s southern counties, which include the larger cities of Houston, Galveston, Laredo, Brownsville, McAllen, Corpus Christi, and Victoria. The Southern District also oversees the Gulf Coast Violent Offenders Task Force, which focuses on the apprehension of USMS fugitives and state and local violent offenders.

Northern District of Texas – The Northern District of Texas consists of all northern counties, which include the major cities of Dallas, Amarillo, Fort Worth, San Angelo, Abilene, Lubbock, and Wichita Falls. The Northern District oversees the North Texas Fugitive Task Force, which is a full-time fugitive task force designed to target violent fugitives. Some of the major agencies involved with this task force include: Dallas Police Department, Fort Worth Police Department, Grand Prairie Police Department, and the Tarrant County Sheriff’s Department.

Eastern District of Texas – The Eastern District of Texas consists of all eastern counties, which include the larger cities of Sherman, Tyler, Beaumont, Marshall, Paris, Texarkana, and Lufkin. The Eastern District oversees the Joint East Texas Fugitive Apprehension Task Force.

Back to Top