US Marshal Job Description and Career Opportunities in New York

New York has a long history of successful U.S. Marshals Service (USMS) task forces and programs. The USMS creates these programs in an effort to bring together the intelligence, resources and manpower of the agency in partnership with agencies at the local, state and federal level. Just a few of the task forces and programs that are overseen by the U.S. Marshals in New York include:

Sponsored Content

Fugitive Safe Surrender – Fugitive Safe Surrender, which took place in Rochester in April 2008, was a four-day program that resulted in the voluntary surrender of 209 individuals, 12 of whom were wanted for felony crimes. In total, 217 warrants were cleared during this program.

New York-New Jersey Regional Fugitive Task Force – Referred to as a “model for interagency cooperation and success,” the New York/New Jersey Regional Fugitive Task Force was created in 2002 with the help and cooperation of more than 80 agencies at the state, local and federal level. The Regional Task Force now operates through three offices in the New York-New Jersey area. Its goal is to remove violent and dangerous offenders from the streets through interagency investigation and apprehension.

Other task forces include the Drug Enforcement Administration Long Island Marijuana Task Force and the New York-New Jersey High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area Fugitive Task Force.

How to Become a U.S. Marshal in New York: Job Requirements

Before applying for a job as a U.S. marshal, individuals should first determine when the USMS is holding an open recruitment event, as this is the only time applications can be submitted. The USMS website updates hiring information, and individuals may also contact a local USMS office for more information.

Only those individuals who meet the agency’s requirements should seek career opportunities as U.S. marshals in New York. Minimum requirements for employment include:

  • Must be a United States citizen
  • Must be between the ages of 21 and 36
  • Must hold a valid and current driver’s license
  • Must meet the requirements of the GL-7 level

The USMS only hires individuals at the GL-7 level; therefore, all candidates must meet the minimum requirements for this federal pay level. They include possessing one of the following:

  •  A bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university with a 3.0 overall GPA and a 3.5 GPA in courses related to their major; OR
  • At least one full year of graduate-level study in a field related to law enforcement (i.e., criminal justice, sociology, criminology, etc.); OR
  • At least one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the GL-5 level; specialized experience must include work in criminal investigations, law enforcement, and search and seizure; OR
  • An acceptable combination of education and experience


Training Requirements

All new trainees must complete the mandatory basic training for U.S. marshal jobs, which includes 17 ½ weeks at the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center (FLETC) in Glynco, Georgia. This program requires individuals who are physically fit; therefore, the USMS encourages all new hires to come to basic training in excellent, physical condition as to best handle the rigors of physical conditioning and defensive tactics training that take place throughout the program. All new hires are given a physical fitness test that is completed at least 6 months before the start of basic academy.

Training, which is conducted by both FLETC and USMS instructors, includes:

  • Running long distances
  • Periodic and repeated calisthenics (push-ups, sit-ups, etc.)
  • The completion of obstacle courses, sprints and similar conditioning activities
  • At least 7 exams that must be passed with a minimum score of 70 percent
  • A final physical fitness test that must be passed to graduate training


New York USMS Operations

Because the offices and operations of the U.S. Marshals Service are based on the organizational structure of the federal courts system, New York is divided into four judicial districts:

Northern – The Northern District of New York includes the northern counties of the state, which include the cities of Syracuse, Albany, Binghamton, Utica, Watertown, Malone, and Auburn.

Southern – The Southern District of New York includes the southern counties, which include White Plains and the Middletown-Wallkill area of Orange County.

Eastern – The Eastern District of New York includes the counties of Queens, Kings, Nassau, Richmond, and Suffolk, as well as the waters within Bronx and New York counties.

Western – The Western District of New York includes the state’s western counties, which include the cities of Buffalo, Elmira, Rochester, Jamestown, and Canandaigua.

Back to Top