US Marshal Job Description and Career Opportunities in Mississippi

The U.S. Marshals Service and its highly trained and qualified U.S. deputy marshals work to ensure the federal judicial system is free to operate unhindered. Within the purview of the U.S. Marshals Service is the ability to seize assets, arrange and oversee witness security, and provide special operations support to a number of programs, such as:

Sponsored Content

Operation Falcon – The U.S. Marshals Service and participating local, state and federal agencies in the Northern District of Mississippi conducted Operation Falcon in 2009. Nationwide, Operation FALCON resulted in nearly 36,000 arrests during the period between June 1 and June 30. In Mississippi, the program resulted in the arrest of 166 felons, including 25 sex offenders. In addition, the U.S. Marshals Service worked with other law enforcement partners to clear 173 warrants in the northern Mississippi area during the same time.

Northern Mississippi Fugitive Investigative Strike Team – The Northern Mississippi Fugitive Investigative Strike Team (FIST) is a U.S. Marshals Service-led permanent task force that coordinates the resources and manpower of local, state and federal law enforcement agencies as to locate and arrest violent and dangerous fugitives.

How to Become a U.S. Marshal in Mississippi

The U.S. Marshals Service, as the oldest federal law enforcement agency in the United States, is responsible for all federal law enforcement services as they relate to the federal judiciary. Because of this, U.S. marshals may be involved in everything from prison operations to investigative operations. Individuals who want to learn how to become U.S. marshals in Mississippi should therefore expect strict employment requirements.

To qualify as a candidate for U.S. marshals jobs, individuals must:

  • Be United States citizens
  • Be between 21 and 36 years old
  • Possess a valid driver’s license
  • Be in excellent physical condition (able to pass a medical examination and physical fitness assessment)
  • Pass a background investigation
  • Pass a competitive, written examination
  • Complete a panel interview
  • Meet the GL-7 federal level requirements
  • Complete the 17 ½ week U.S. Marshals Service basic training program, which includes passing 7 exams and a final physical fitness assessment

GL-7 federal level requirements require one or more of the following:

  • A bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university, with a history of superior academic achievement; OR
  • At least one full year of graduate-level education with a program of study in a law enforcement-related area, such as criminology, criminal justice, sociology, and public safety; OR
  • At least one year of specialized experience at the GL-7 level, including criminal investigation/law enforcement experience; OR
  • A combination of education and experience


U.S. Marshal Service Districts in Mississippi

The U.S. Marshals Service, which is structured according to the federal district court system, is divided into two judicial districts:

Northern District of Mississippi – The U.S. Marshals Service Northern District of Mississippi is headquartered in Oxford, which additional sub-offices located in Greenville and Aberdeen. Northern District is held in Oxford, Ackerman, Corinth, Greenville, Clarksdale, and Aberdeen.

Southern District of Mississippi – The U.S. Marshals Service Southern District of Mississippi is headquartered in Jackson, with sub-offices located in Gulfport and Hattiesburg.

Back to Top